Chaos (almost) Averted: The Temp, Part 5

Melissa has found a job she loves and a boss that she’s falling for… hard. Thing is, the job is temporary and she doesn’t want to fall in love. Ever.


As soon as our lips touched, I was gone. He brought one hand up to pull my head closer and our mouths couldn’t get close enough. His tongue invaded my mouth, exploring, enticing, making me wet with need.
He groaned into my mouth as his hand slid across my ass, sliding his fingers between my legs, reaching, just barely skimming the edge of my panties. My legs shook, my body throbbed with the wanting of him.
Just then there was a knock on the door.
I’m not sure two people have ever stood up faster in the history of time. I hoped I looked a little less dazed than he did, because he was looking rough and far from business like. I tried to ignore the out of control emotions coursing through me and turned to answer the door for him.
I opened the door with a smile, and there was Sharon. She looked surprised to see me there and then her eyes found James. She was apparently the least observant person in the world or she was just distracted, because she just said a quick hi to me and then rushed over to the boss to explain some big problem she was having. At least I assumed it was a problem. I got myself out of there and headed straight to the restrooms to get myself in order. ‘Dear God,’ I thought, ‘What have I gotten myself into?

So, as it turns out the little ‘mishap’ at work that morning wasn’t just a little problem. I mean, no wonder Sharon didn’t notice that James and I were a bit flushed and heated.

It was a potential catastrophe that would have left the company in dire straights had she not caught the problem so early. That one issue ended up leaving us all distracted and busy beyond belief. The good news was that I actually felt like part of the team. I was able to help in ways that others couldn’t because of my vast experiences as a temp. I’d known exactly what to do and had helped James and Sharon coordinate efforts to get everyone on board to fix it and by the end of the day, I was the hero.

My coworkers were ecstatic that I’d had the solution and we’d gotten through it so effortlessly. They were all positive that I had saved them from hours of overtime, lots of stress and maybe even losing their jobs. They invited me out for a meal, but I had to pass. I was exhausted from the adrenaline rush all day and I wanted to tie up just a few more loose ends before I went home to crash. I felt amazing that I had been there to help, but there was also that nagging feeling that this was honestly an amazing company and I didn’t want to leave.

Everyone left, patting me on the back and thanking me again on their way out the door. I had promises of coffee and my favorite bagels for the next morning and a few women offered to take me to lunch on my last day. More than one person mentioned that they really didn’t want Friday to be my last day.

I think the only saving grace was knowing that after tomorrow, James and I could go out and really get hot and heavy for the entire weekend if we so desired. Let me tell you what, I desired. A lot.


James appeared at my desk while I was just finishing up. He looked as tired as I did. “Hey,” he said, putting his hand on mine. Even that simple touch made my pulse jump. “I wanted to thank you again. If not for your quick thinking,”

“It was nothing. You would have figured it out yourself,” I interrupted.

“It wasn’t nothing.” He pulled his hand away and stood up, stretching after sitting at a desk all day. “It was amazing. Sure, one of us might have figured it out eventually, but you saved the day. Take the compliment and pack up your things for today. We can tie up anything else tomorrow.”

“I just have this one last thing,” I said.

“No,” He pulled my hand away from the keyboard. “You need food. And rest. I bet you didn’t even have one bite to eat today, did you?” I grimaced. “That’s what I thought. I heard the girls inviting you out after work, why didn’t you go?”
“I don’t need to be making friends here. I’m going to be gone after tomorrow. There’s no need to make it harder than it needs to be. I do better by myself anyway.” His eyes met mine and I didn’t like the way it felt like he could see right through me. I looked down.

“All right,” he finally said, “You don’t want to discuss it right now. Let’s go get something to eat.”

“I can’t,” I said, searching for something else that I needed to do.

“It’s not a date, nothing inappropriate. I actually invited Sharon out as well, because you two deserve a nice meal after going over and above today. She’s busy, but you and I can stop and get something to eat. Nothing personal, I promise. I’ll keep my hands to myself and everything.” He held up his hands as if to prove that he was going to behave. “If it makes you more comfortable, we can just hit the McDonald’s Drive through and I’ll just throw a bag of food at your car.”

I laughed. I wasn’t sure what I was so afraid of. It’s not like he was going to do something I didn’t want him to do. My thoughts immediately went to the things I wanted him to do and I blushed. I agreed to go if he’d let me finish one last task, just to get him to leave for a minute so I could get my shit together.

I finished up and headed to the lobby where he was waiting.
“We can go anywhere you like to eat. Do you have a preference?” He asked, holding the door for me.

“Actually, I kind of want pizza.” I said, feeling a little silly. Here he was in his nice suit taking me out and I asked for pizza.

“Pizza sounds awesome. Do you mean real pizza or fancy pizza?” He asked with a twinkle in his eye. I kind of liked this teasing, happy go lucky side of him.

“Excuse me, Sir,” I said in my best haughty voice, “Fancy pizza shouldn’t even be allowed to be called pizza!”

He laughed, “Well, that’s a relief! You want to ride with me and I can drop you off here to get your car later? It’s a bit of a drive to get the best pizza.”


I was just kind of lost in the moment and agreed. We were in his car on our way to get dinner and it felt so normal, so relaxed. I realized after about 20 minutes that we were chatting like we’d known each other for months. I was laughing at his dumb jokes and he was telling me about his family. We arrived at the pizza place and I was impressed. This was one of those family owned, hole-in-the wall kind of places that didn’t have all the fancy newfangled options. You got pizza with meat and veggies or just had cheese.
The waitress flirted and joked with James, even though she was probably old enough to be his mother. Then her husband and co-owner came over and gave her a hard time for the flirting. They were hilarious and down to earth. It was like extra entertainment with the meal.

I couldn’t remember the last time I had that much fun on a date. Or a business dinner. I sighed to myself, it was far too late to pretend I didn’t like this guy. It hadn’t even been a week and here I was forgetting myself and having fun. Laughing like a banshee in a public place, talking to a guy about his family, ‘Oh, girl, you are in deep!’ Even my inner voice was giving her take on the situation.

We were halfway back to the office before it happened. The entire night kind of came to a screeching halt when James asked the dreaded question. I wasn’t really expecting it, we’d been having such a great time, chatting about things. I guess I let my guard down.

I was still smiling over something silly he’d told me about his brother and him as kids when he said, “So, I’ve talked about myself all night. What about you? Are you close to your family? Tell me about you.”

I went still. ‘This is why we don’t date’ my inner voice said. I managed to redirect without much trouble, “Oh, we can talk about me next time. Tell me more about you and your brother. He sounds like he really had to put up with a lot from you when you guys were younger. You were a brat!” I tried to keep my voice light, but I’m not sure he bought it.

Being the gentleman he was, he let me off the hook, “Oh, so you think I’m the brat? Wait until I tell you what he did the time we were visiting our grandparents’ farm!” And he regaled me with stories of fun summer time antics until we got back to my car.

I was smiling again, but the mood was obviously not the same. He pulled in to the spot next to mine and I had my hand on the door before he even got completely stopped. “Thanks for the pizza.” I said, my voice feeling a bit strained.

He put his hand on mine and I wanted to cry. I liked this guy so much, but I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t want to get close to anyone. I didn’t want to feel this much. Not again. “Melissa, I’m sorry for bringing things up you didn’t want to talk about. I promise I’ll try to be more sensitive. I’m normally better at this. We were having a great time, right? I didn’t completely miss that, did I?”

I shook my head, “No, it’s not you at all. I told you, I just don’t… I’m not a relationship type. I just wanted a fling.”

He squeezed my hand and I made the mistake of looking at him. This guy wore his heart on his sleeve. Or in his eyes. It was like I could see everything he was feeling and it was more than a little terrifying. Suddenly his eyes grew shuttered somehow and all I saw was heat. He reached his other hand up and pulled me to him, laying a searing kiss on my lips.

My body betrayed me immediately and groaned with the pleasure of it. ‘Fuck!’ I thought. Then shoved that little voice to the side. I was strong enough to handle this. I wasn’t going to miss the chance for a hot night in bed with this guy right here. Not when I could feel the heat of a simple kiss all the way down to my toes.

He pulled back and said, “Okay then, no emotional entanglements, but how about just sex? Tomorrow night at my place? As long as I tell you to leave as soon as I’m done?”

I shot him a hesitant smile, I mean this guy was playing me like a fiddle and damn it. I was going to let him. “Yeah, but make it my place. And you’re not allowed to respect me in the morning.”

He reached out his hand like this was a proper business deal, “All right. Sex all night and I won’t call you afterwards.”

My grin widened as I shook his hand, “That sounds like the perfect deal!” I grabbed the door handle and practically jumped out of the car before he could change his mind. “See you tomorrow, Mr. Hallaron!”
He stayed there in his car and watched me drive away. I knew I was fooling myself, but that just shows you how hot this guy was. I really really wanted to see what he was like in bed. Consequences be damned.


To Be Continued


Check out some of my other more explicit stories:37544523_1846737622085777_3883680098158641152_n.png 

Photo Source 1234Cover Photo Pixabay**Crossposted on my Steemit Blog**

2 thoughts on “Chaos (almost) Averted: The Temp, Part 5

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started